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Secretary of State

Dear Voter,

This is your Supplemental Voter Information Guide containing important
information on Propositions 30 and 31, two referenda measures that have
qualified to appear before the voters on the March 7, 2000 primary election
ballot. Although we prefer having all statewide election materials sent to voters
at the same time, the special circumstances of referendum certification resulted
in their qualification after the printing deadline of the Principal Voter
Information Guide, which you should already have received.

A referendum is different than an initiative statute or initiative constitutional
amendment: a referendum gives the voters the power to approve or reject a law
previously enacted by the Legislature and approved by the Governor. Although
other ballot measures must qualify 131 days before the election in order to
appear on the ballot, a referendum can qualify as late as 31 days before an
election.

We urge you to study the information contained in this Supplemental Voter
Information Guide regarding Propositions 30 and 31, as well as the important
information on the 18 propositions contained in the Principal Voter Information
Guide previously sent to you. (If you have not received the Principal Voter
Information Guide, you can have one sent to you by calling 1-800-345-VOTE.)

The March 7, 2000 Presidential Primary Election is an historic event for
California: not only is it the first election of the new millennium, but for the first
time in over 30 years Californians will have a powerful voice in deciding
who will be the nominees for the next President! If you know someone who
has not registered to vote, and would like to do so, please contact the Secretary of
State’s Voter Registration and Election Fraud Hotline at 1-800-345-VOTE to
obtain registration information. You can also visit our expanded Internet site at
www.ss.ca.gov for up-to-date election-day information.

We urge you to go to the polls on March 7% and encourage your family, friends
and relatives to participate and vote!
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Ballot Measure Summary

PROPOSITIO

30

SUMMARY

“Yes” vote approves, “No” vote
rejects legislation restoring
right to sue another person’s
insurer for unfair claims
settlement practices following
judgment or award against
other person; barring lawsuit if
insurer agrees to arbitrate
original claim against insured

INSURANCE CLAIMS
PRACTICES.
CIVIL REMEDIES.

Referendum Statute

Put on the Ballot
by Petition Signatures

party. Fiscal Impact: Increase
in state insurance gross
premiums tax revenue,
potentially several millions of
dollars each year. Unknown net
impact on state court costs.

WHAT YOUR VOTE MEANS

YES

A YES vote on this measure
means: An individual or
business could sue another
individual’s or business’s
insurance company for unfair
practices in handling their claim
resulting from an event such as
an accident. A person would
continue to be able to file a
complaint with the Department
of Insurance regarding such
practices.

ARGUMENTS
PRO

Governor Davis, and both
Houses of the Legislature,
restored your right to sue a bad
driver’s insurance company
which illegally delays your
valid claim. If you pay your
premiums on time, insurance
companies should pay your
claims on time. Protect your
right. Vote “Yes.” Approve the
Fair Insurance Responsibility
Act.

NO

A NO vote on this measure
means: An individual or business
could not sue another
individual’s or business’s
insurance company for unfair
practices in handling their claim
resulting from an event such as
an accident. A person would
continue to be able to file a
complaint with the Department
of Insurance regarding such
practices.

CON

Proposition 30 will drive your
insurance rates higher,
dramatically increase the
number of frivolous lawsuits in
accident cases, cost taxpayers
millions of dollars, reward
lawbreaking uninsured and
drunk drivers with new rights
to sue—that’s why respected
taxpayer, consumer, senior,
labor, business and public
safety leaders urge No on 30.

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

FOR

Consumers and their Attorneys,
Yes on Proposition 30

(916) 491-4691

www.yes30.org

AGAINST

Consumers Against Fraud and
Higher Insurance Costs

591 Redwood Highway,
Building 4000,

Mill Valley, CA 94941
1-800-952-0530
info@cathic.org
www.NO30and31.org

PROPOSITIO

31

SUMMARY

A “Yes” vote approves, a “No”
vote rejects statutory
amendments limiting right of
injured party to sue another’s
insurer for unfair claims
practices and exempting
specified insurers under certain
circumstances. Fiscal Impact:
This proposition would have a

INSURANCE CLAIMS
PRACTICES. CIVIL REMEDY
AMENDMENTS.

Referendum Statute

Put on the Ballot
by Petition Signatures

fiscal impact only if Proposition
30 is approved. In this case, the
proposition would not
significantly affect the state and
local fiscal impacts of
Proposition 30.

WHAT YOUR VOTE MEANS

YES

A YES vote on this measure
means: Certain provisions of
Proposition 30, if also approved
by the voters, would be
changed, limiting to some extent
when a person could sue another
person’s insurance company
over unfair claims practices.

ARGUMENTS
PRO

A woman in a crosswalk was
hit by a reckless driver. The
reckless driver’s insurance
company delayed paying her
medical bills for years. She has
no right to sue the bad driver’s
insurance company. The Fair
Insurance Responsibility Act
restores that right when your
legitimate claims are unfairly
delayed.

NO

ANO vote on this measure
means: Proposition 30 on this
ballot, if approved by the voters,
would not be changed.

CON

Propositions 31 and 30 are
linked: written by and for
personal injury lawyers—
opposed by respected
organizations: Mothers
Against Drunk Driving,
California Taxpayers
Association, Seniors Coalition,
Voter Revolt, California
Organization of Police and
Sheriffs, plus dozens of other
taxpayer, consumer, senior,
business, public safety leaders.
Say No to Proposition 31.

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

FOR

Consumers and their Attorneys,
Yes on Proposition 30

(916) 491-4691
www.yes31.org

AGAINST

Consumers Against Fraud and
Higher Insurance Costs

591 Redwood Highway,
Building 4000,

Mill Valley, CA 94941
1-800-952-0530
info@cathic.org
www.NO30and31.org
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Referendum.

Official Title and Summary Prepared by the Attorney General

Insurance Claims Practices. Civil Remedies.

INSURANCE CLAIMS PRACTICES. CIVIL REMEDIES.
REFERENDUM.

A “Yes” vote approves, a “No” vote rejects legislation that:

e restores right to sue another person’s insurer for insurer’s unfair claims settlement practices;

e allows such lawsuits only if insurer rejects a settlement demand and injured party obtains a larger

judgment or award against insured party;

e bars such lawsuits against public entities; workers’ compensation insurers; and professional liability
insurers under certain circumstances; or if convicted of driving under the influence;

e authorizes requests for consensual binding arbitration of claims under $50,001 against parties covered by
insurance. Insurers agreeing to arbitration cannot be sued for unfair practices.

Summary of Legislative Analyst’s
Estimate of Net State and Local Government Fiscal Impact:

¢ Increase in state insurance gross premiums tax revenue, potentially several millions of dollars each year.

e Unknown net impact on state court costs.

Analysis by the Legislative Analyst

BACKGROUND
Insurance Claims

Under current law, an insurance company must handle
claims from a policyholder in a fair manner. It is illegal
for an insurance company to engage in “unfair” claims
practices, such as:

e Failing to promptly explain the reason for denying a

claim or offering a compromise settlement.

e Failing to act in “good faith” to settle a claim in

which liability is reasonably clear.

If an insurance company unfairly handles a claim
(typically referred to as the “underlying claim”), the
policyholder has two ways to respond: (1) file a complaint
with the Department of Insurance (DOI), which is
responsible for enforcing state law regarding unfair
claims practices; and/or (2) sue his or her insurance
company in civil court. These lawsuits by individuals
against their own insurance companies are referred to as
“first-party” actions.

There are many insurance claims—especially those
involving auto accidents—that involve two individuals.
For instance:

Driver X runs a red light and hits Driver Y,
causing both bodily injury to Driver Y and
damage to her car. Driver X’s insurance
company is willing to pay Driver Y $20,000 for
her injury and damages, but not the $30,000
Driver Y feels is reasonable. Driver Y can either
accept the $20,000 or reject it and sue Driver X
in court.

If Driver Y feels that Driver X’s insurance company did
not deal with her fairly throughout the process, Driver
Y—as a “third-party” claimant—has only one way to
respond. She can file a complaint with DOI for an
investigation. She cannot sue Driver X’s insurance
company for unfairly handling the claim (a so-called
third-party lawsuit). These third-party lawsuits were
possible in California during the 1980s but are not now.
See nearby box for a brief legal history.

Legal History on Third-Party Lawsuits in California

Prior to 1979 Third-party lawsuits were not allowed.

March 1979  The California Supreme Court ruled in Royal
Globe Ins. Co. v. Superior Court that a third
party could sue an insurance company for
unfair claims practices.

In Moradi-Shalal v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co.,
the California Supreme Court overturned its
Royal Globe decision. The court held that state
law did not include a right for a third-party
claimant to sue an insurance company for
unfair claims practices.

The Governor signed two laws specifically
allowing third-party lawsuits in certain
situations. These measures were to have gone
into effect January 1, 2000. In December
1999, however, referenda on the two laws
qualified for the March 2000 ballot
(Propositions 30 and 31). Thus, the provisions
of the two laws are “on hold” until after the
vote on the propositions.

August 1988

October 1999
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Recent Legislation

In the fall of 1999, the Legislature approved and the
Governor signed SB 1237 (Chapter 720) and AB 1309
(Chapter 721). These laws allow third-party claimants to
sue insurance companies under certain conditions. The
two laws would have gone into effect January 1, 2000. In
December 1999, however, referenda on the two laws
qualified for the March 2000 ballot (Propositions 30 and
31). Once these propositions qualified, SB 1237 and AB
1309 were put “on hold” until the vote at the March 2000
election.

ProrosaL

If approved, this proposition would allow the
provisions of SB 1237 to go into effect. Senate Bill 1237
(1) gives third-party claimants the right to sue an
insurance company for unfair claim practices in certain
liability cases and (2) creates an alternative, binding
arbitration system for settling these liability cases.

Third-Party Lawsuits

This proposition allows an individual or a business to
file a third-party lawsuit against an insurance company
for unfair claims practices in handling liability claims.
(Liability insurance provides financial protection to
individuals and businesses for harm that occurs to
others.) This insurance generally provides compensation
for bodily harm, wrongful death, and economic losses. A
third-party lawsuit could be filed, however, only if:

¢ The third party was not driving under the influence

of alcohol or drugs at the time of the accident that
caused injury.

¢ The third party sends a written final request to the

insurance company to settle the claim for an amount
within the insurance policy limits.

¢ The third party is awarded an amount larger than

the final written request.

If the lawsuit goes forward, the third-party claimant
needs to prove in court that the insurance company
unfairly handled the claim. If the third party wins the
lawsuit, the claimant could receive an amount that is
higher than the insurance policy limits.

An Example. In the earlier example, Driver Y had one
way of responding to the insurance company’s handling
of her case—filing a complaint with DOI. Under this
proposition, she could also pursue a third-party lawsuit
against Driver X’s insurance company. To do so, an award
in the underlying claim would have to exceed her final
written request. (For instance, if her final request was
the $30,000 she thought was reasonable, the award
would have to be more than that amount.)

Arbitration

This proposition also creates a binding arbitration
system to settle certain disputed underlying claims

(generally those of $50,000 or less where the claimant is
represented by a lawyer). Either a third-party claimant
or an insurance company can request arbitration, but
both sides must agree before the case goes to arbitration.
If a case goes to arbitration, the third-party claimant
cannot sue the company. In all cases, an arbitration
award cannot exceed policy limits or include damages not
covered by the policy.

Interaction With Proposition 31

Proposition 31 would modify portions of this
proposition if both are approved by the voters. In general,
Proposition 31 would place some limits on when a
third-party lawsuit could be filed. Please see the analysis
of Proposition 31 for more details.

FiscaL EFrecT

The fiscal impact of this proposition on state and local
governments would depend on the future behavior of
individuals, insurance companies, and other businesses
in response to its provisions. The proposition, however,
would likely increase liability insurance costs in
California. These higher costs would occur because (1) in
many cases, insurance companies will settle or arbitrate
claims for somewhat higher amounts to avoid third-party
lawsuits; and (2) when there are such lawsuits,
insurance companies will incur greater costs. These
higher costs could be offset in part by savings from other
provisions in the proposition. For instance, some
arbitration awards might be lower than what the
insurance companies otherwise would have paid.

The net increase in liability insurance costs, however,
presumably would result in insurance premiums that
were higher than they otherwise would have been. In
order for an insurance company to increase premiums,
DOI must review and approve proposed premium
increases.

Insurance Gross Premiums Tax. The state currently
taxes insurance companies on the basis of gross
premiums. (This tax is instead of the corporate income
tax.) The current tax is 2.35 percent of gross premiums.
Any increase in insurance premiums would increase
state revenue from this tax. We estimate, for example,
that for each 1 percent increase in liability premiums,
state tax revenues would increase by about $2 million
each year.

State Court Costs. The proposition could affect the
number of civil cases taken to court. On the one hand,
some provisions of the proposition could reduce court
costs (by shifting cases to arbitration). Other provisions,
however, could increase court costs (by allowing
third-party lawsuits). We cannot estimate the net effect
of these provisions on state costs.

For Text of Proposition 30 see Page 12
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Referendum.

Insurance Claims Practices. Civil Remedies.

Argument in Favor of Proposition 30

Governor Gray Davis and both Houses of the Legislature
enacted the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act—restoring your
right to sue a bad driver’s insurance company if it illegally
delays paying what they owe you and making your life
miserable.

Here’s one example of thousands of cases:

A reckless driver talking on a cell phone runs through a red
light and smashes into a woman driving her child to school. The
reckless driver’s insurance company delays paying her medical
bills for years. The innocent driver does not have the right to
sue the reckless driver’s insurance company—unless voters
approve the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act.

To protect your newly restored right to hold insurance
companies responsible, voters must approve the Fair Insurance
Responsibility Act.

Seven out-of-state and foreign insurance companies oppose
this law. The Los Angeles Times calls their campaign “a $50
million corporate effort . . . playing a complicated game with
voters . . . hiding behind a consumer veil.”

Proposition 30 prohibits drunk drivers from suing and does
not give uninsured motorists the right to sue you. In fact, if
you're injured by a drunk driver, Proposition 30 requires the
drunk driver’s insurance company to pay your claim on time.

The insurance companies’ campaign ads falsely accuse
Governor Gray Davis and the Legislature of giving drunk
drivers the right to sue under this new law.

Governor Davis’ office responded: “That’s certainly not what
the legislation does. Governor Davis signed measures that are
good public policy and protect individuals from being treated
unfairly.”

And Proposition 30 does not change Proposition 213 which
prohibits uninsured drivers from suing for pain and suffering.

Proposition 30 will reduce the number of lawsuits in

California: If an insurance company agrees to resolve your claim
through arbitration or simply decides to treat your valid claim
fairly, there is no lawsuit.

Insurance companies are falsely accusing Governor Gray
Davis of signing a law that allows insurance companies to raise
your premiums.

Under California law, insurance companies penalized for
violating this law cannot pass on those penalties to consumers
by raising your premiums. The California Code of Regulations
says: “Bad faith judgments and associated loss adjustment
expenses” are “excluded expenses” for setting insurance company
premiums.

The Sacramento Bee editorial summarized the issue: “On
balance, SB 1237 (the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act) offers
fair and needed protections to injured innocent victims and
reasonable incentives for insurance companies to do the right
and lawful thing.”

You pay your premiums on time. The bad driver’s insurance
company should pay your valid claim on time.

Consumers Union (the publishers of Consumer Reports), the
Congress of California Seniors and the Consumer Federation
support the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act enacted by both
Houses of the Legislature and signed by Governor Davis. Give
yourself a fighting chance. Protect your rights. Vote “Yes” on
Proposition 30.

SENATOR MARTHA ESCUTIA

KAY McVAY, RN
President, California Nurses Association

LOIS WELLINGTON
President, Congress of California Seniors

Rebuttal to Argument in Favor of Proposition 30

Ask yourself: If Propositions 30 and 31 are such good laws,
why did the personal injury lawyers who wrote them
specifically exempt their own insurance companies from their
provisions?

They did it to protect themselves against higher insurance
rates, pure and simple. Even though they created these
proposals, they don’t want to pay the price. And that says it all.

Their so-called “Fair Insurance Responsibility Act” is neither
fair nor responsible. It’s simply a way for them to file more
lawsuits and make more money at your expense.

California’s retired Legislative Analyst warns that measures
like Propositions 30 and 31 will increase insurance rates up to
15% and, “could cost taxpayers millions.” The California
Organization of Police and Sheriffs says, “insurance fraud will
thrive.”

The facts are: Propositions 30 and 31 will drive insurance
rates significantly higher, double the number of lawsuits in
accident cases and cost taxpayers millions—which is why these
propositions are opposed by so many respected taxpayer,

consumer, senior, business and public safety groups in
California.

Proponents claim these Propositions don’t give drunk drivers
new power to sue. But after careful analysis, Mothers Against
Drunk Driving concluded “because these measures do not
exclude all drunk drivers, many will get new rights to
sue . . . even when drunk at the time of the collision.”

Don’t reward drunk drivers and uninsured motorists for
breaking the law. Say NO to higher insurance costs and
personal injury lawyers who want to profit at your expense.
Vote NO on 30 and 31.

REBECCA M. BEARDEN
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD),
Chairperson, California Public Policy Committee

MICHAEL JOHNSON
Executive Director, Voter Revolt

JIM CONRAN
President, Consumers First

6 Arguments printed on this page are the opinions of the authors and have not been checked for accuracy by any official agency.
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Insurance Claims Practices. Civil Remedies.

Referendum.

Argument Against Proposition 30

DON’'T BE FOOLED

Proposition 30 (and its companion, Proposition 31), sponsored
by personal injury lawyers, is a trick to allow two lawsuits for
the same accident. That means billions in higher lawyer fees,
but consumers pay. No wonder the personal injury lawyers’
association president told the LA Times that Proposition 30
(with Prop. 31) was, “our biggest victory in 40 or 50 years.”

This “victory” for personal injury lawyers will dramatically
increase insurance premiums for all Californians. Respected
former Legislative Analyst William Hamm estimates
Proposition 30 could cost consumers up to 15% more for auto
insurance, over $1 billion more each year. Small businesses also
pay millions more.

Under Proposition 30, if your insurer refuses to pay an
unreasonable settlement demand made against you, it risks a
separate multi-million dollar lawsuit.

PROPOSITION 30 MEANS:

¢ Insurance rates for average consumers increase $200-300
per year.

e Personal injury lawyers can file thousands of frivolous
lawsuits aimed at you and your insurer.

e Drunk drivers can sue and collect punitive damages that
current law prevents.

e Lawbreakers who drive without insurance can sue for huge
punitive damages.

e Taxpayers pay tens of millions more in court costs for
frivolous lawsuits.

e Insurance fraud skyrockets.

THE LESSONS OF RECENT HISTORY ARE CLEAR!

During the 1980s, the California Supreme Court allowed
second lawsuits if an inflated settlement demand was not met.
According to California Judicial Council records, auto injury
lawsuits filed every year almost doubled. Settlements from
insurers zoomed. Since personal injury lawyers often receive
40%, they made millions. As a result, consumer’s insurance
rates skyrocketed. Finally, the Supreme Court outlawed these
second lawsuits. Since then, the number of auto injury lawsuits
is back to normal. According to the Department of Insurance,
insurance rates are down over 20%.

PROP. 30 IS COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY.

If someone thinks a settlement offer is too low, they can
already take the dispute to court. They can also file a complaint
with the state Department of Insurance.

Proposition 30 invites more frivolous lawsuits, more
fraudulent claims and higher insurance rates.

HERE’S WHAT SOME OF THE MANY RESPECTED
GROUPS OPPOSING PROP. 30 SAY:

“Proposition 30 would give drunk drivers new rights to sue
and recover financial rewards against an insurance company,
even if they are drunk at the time of the collision. Drunk
drivers should be forced to pay, not BE PAID by their willful
disregard for the law. MADD is vigorously opposed to Prop. 30.”

—Mothers Against Drunk Driving

“Proposition 30 will cost taxpayers millions because
hard-earned tax dollars will be diverted as government
agencies are forced to pay for frivolous lawsuits and high
insurance costs.”

—California Taxpayers’ Association

“Insurance fraud will thrive under Prop. 30.”

—~California Organization of Police and Sheriffs

“If Prop. 30 takes effect, money needed for classroom
instruction will instead have to pay for higher school insurance
costs.”

—Marian Bergeson, Member, State Board of Education

JOIN TAXPAYERS, SENIORS, CONSUMERS, INSURERS,
SMALL BUSINESS GROUPS, EDUCATORS AND LAW
ENFORCEMENT.

VOTE NO ON PROPOSITION 30.

REBECCA M. BEARDEN
Chairperson, California Public Policy Committee,
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)

LARRY McCARTHY
President, California Taxpayers Association

SHIRLEY KNIGHT
Deputy State Director, National Federation of
Independent Business

Rebuttal to Argument Against Proposition 30

The insurance companies claim that Proposition 30 will
double the number of lawsuits. That’s false.

Ralph Nader says: “Proposition 30 discourages lawsuits by
requiring insurance companies to pay your claims fairly.”

Insurance companies claim Proposition 30 will raise your
premiums. That’s false.

The California Department of Insurance rules prohibit
insurance companies from raising your premiums to pay their
penalties for violating the law.

The insurance companies accuse Governor Davis of signing a
law that raises your premiums by giving new rights to drunk
drivers and uninsured motorists. That’s outrageous!

Governor Davis’ office responded: “That’s certainly not what
the legislation does.”

Candace Lightner, the Founder of MADD: “I am the founder
of Mothers Against Drunk Driving and a supporter of
Proposition 30 because it helps victims of drunk drivers.”

The insurance companies even falsely claim that Proposition
30 will take money from our schools!

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Delaine Eastin:

“Proposition 30 exempts public schools, police and fire
departments and other public entities.”

Seven out-of-state and foreign insurance companies are
trying to kill Proposition 30 because they make more money
every time they low-ball or stonewall paying your valid claim.

Proposition 30 restores a good driver’s right to sue a bad
driver’s insurance company if it illegally delays paying what
they owe you.

The California Department of Justice describes Proposition
30 as “legislation restoring rights to sue insurers for unfair
practices.”

Ralph Nader says: “A ‘Yes’ vote protects your rights against
insurance companies.”

SENATOR MARTHA ESCUTIA

KAY McVAY, R.N.
President, California Nurses Association

LOIS WELLINGTON
President, Congress of California Seniors

S2000  Arguments printed on this page are the opinions of the authors and have not been checked for accuracy by any official agency. 7




Official Title and Summary Prepared by the Attorney General

Insurance Claims Practices. Civil Remedy
Amendments. Referendum.

INSURANCE CLAIMS PRACTICES. CIVIL REMEDY
AMENDMENTS. REFERENDUM.

A “Yes” vote approves, a “No” vote rejects statutory provisions that:

e limit conditions under which injured party may sue another person’s insurer for damages resulting from

insurer’s unfair claims settlement practices;

¢ limit emotional distress claims;

¢ limit property damage claims to those caused by motor vehicle incident;

e exempt professional liability insurers from unfair claims settlement practices suit if professional’s consent is
required for settlement and professional withholds consent;

e provide that an insurer requesting arbitration is presumed to act in good faith;

¢ add requirement that state auditor report on effect of Proposition 30, as amended.

Summary of Legislative Analyst’s
Estimate of Net State and Local Government Fiscal Impact:

e If the voters approve Proposition 30, this proposition would slightly reduce the fiscal impact that
Proposition 30 would have on state revenues and have an unknown impact on state court costs.

e If the voters disapprove Proposition 30, this measure would have no fiscal impact on state and local

governments.

Analysis by the Legislative Analyst

BAckGrROUND
Insurance Claims

Under current law, an insurance company must handle
claims from a policyholder in a fair manner. It is illegal
for an insurance company to engage in “unfair” claims
practices, such as:

e Failing to promptly explain the reason for denying a

claim or offering a compromise settlement.

e Failing to act in “good faith” to settle a claim in

which liability is reasonably clear.

If an insurance company unfairly handles a claim
(typically referred to as the “underlying claim”), the
policyholder has two ways to respond: (1) file a complaint
with the Department of Insurance (DOI), which is
responsible for enforcing state law regarding unfair
claims practices; and/or (2) sue his or her insurance
company in civil court. These lawsuits by individuals
against their own insurance companies are referred to as
“first-party” actions.

There are many insurance claims—especially those
involving auto accidents—that involve two individuals.
For instance:

Driver X runs a red light and hits Driver Y, causing

both bodily injury to Driver Y and damage to her car.

Driver X’s insurance company is willing to pay

Driver Y $20,000 for her injury and damages, but not

the $30,000 Driver Y feels is reasonable. Driver Y

can either accept the $20,000 or reject it and sue

Driver X in court.

If Driver Y feels that Driver X’s insurance company did
not deal with her fairly throughout the process, Driver
Y—as a “third-party” claimant—has only one way to
respond. She can file a complaint with DOI for an
investigation. She cannot sue Driver X’s insurance
company for unfairly handling the claim (a so-called
third-party lawsuit). These third-party lawsuits were
possible in California during the 1980s but are not now.
See nearby box for a brief legal history.
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Legal History on Third-Party Lawsuits in California

Prior to 1979 Third-party lawsuits were not allowed.

March 1979  The California Supreme Court ruled in Royal
Globe Ins. Co. v. Superior Court that a third
party could sue an insurance company for
unfair claims practices.

In Moradi-Shalal v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co.,
the California Supreme Court overturned its
Royal Globe decision. The court held that state
law did not include a right for a third-party
claimant to sue an insurance company for
unfair claims practices.

The Governor signed two laws specifically
allowing third-party lawsuits in certain
situations. These measures were to have gone
into effect January 1, 2000. In December
1999, however, referenda on the two laws
qualified for the March 2000 ballot
(Propositions 30 and 31). Thus, the provisions
of the two laws are “on hold” until after the
vote on the propositions.

August 1988

October 1999

Recent Legislation

In the fall of 1999, the Legislature approved and the
Governor signed SB 1237 (Chapter 720) and AB 1309
(Chapter 721). These laws allow third-party claimants to
sue insurance companies under certain conditions. The
two laws would have gone into effect January 1, 2000. In
December 1999, however, referenda on the two laws
qualified for the March 2000 ballot (Propositions 30 and
31). Once these propositions qualified, SB 1237 and
AB 1309 were put “on hold” until the vote at the March
2000 election.
ProrosaL

If approved, this proposition would allow the
provisions of AB 1309 to go into effect. By itself, however,
this proposition does not change existing law. It becomes
law only if Proposition 30 on this ballot is also approved
by the voters. Proposition 31 would amend parts of
Proposition 30, limiting to some extent when a
third-party claimant can sue an insurance company for
unfair claims practices. Figure 1 shows the major
changes that this proposition would make to
Proposition 30.

Major Changes That Proposition 31
Makes to Proposition 30
Provision Proposition 30 Proposition 31
Who can Individuals and Only individuals can sue.
sue businesses can
sue.
Economic No restrictions on  Claim for property
loss claim claim. damage must result from
car accident.
Bodily injury No restrictions on  Claim cannot include
claim claim. emotional distress
resulting from economic
loss (such as lost wages),
but can include emotional
distress resulting from
other causes if there are
physical signs of the
distress.
Binding In specified cases, In specified cases, if an
arbitration if an insurance insurance company
system company agrees to requests or agrees to
arbitration, the arbitration, the third-party
third-party claimant claimant cannot sue the
cannot sue the company.
company.

FiscaL EFrFecT

This proposition would have a fiscal effect only if the
voters also approve Proposition 30 on this ballot.

As noted above, this proposition changes portions of
Proposition 30. We estimated that Proposition 30 would
result in somewhat higher insurance gross premiums tax
revenues and an unknown net impact on state court
costs. If this proposition also passes, state revenues
would be slightly less, and the impact on state court costs
is unknown.

For Text of Proposition 31 see Page 14
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Insurance Claims Practices. Civil Remedy
Amendments. Referendum.

Argument in Favor of Proposition 31

Why did Governor Gray Davis and both Houses of the Legislature
enact the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act?

Because too many insurance companies unfairly delay paying what
they owe you and making your life miserable. Here is another example:

A woman in a crosswalk was hit by a reckless driver. The reckless
driver’s insurance company delayed paying her medical bills for years.
Without the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act, she has no right to sue
the bad driver’s insurance company.

The Sacramento Bee editorial entitled: “Bad Faith. What happens
when insurers refuse to pay?” described the problem this way:

“Some bozo driving the wrong way down a one-way street hits you.
He’s clearly in the wrong. Your car is totaled and you’re gravely injured.
Under the rules, his insurance company is supposed to pay you for the
damages and injuries you've suffered”.

What happens when the insurance company refuses to pay? Without
the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act you can’t sue the insurance
company.

In supporting the new law, the Bee went on to summarize how the
Fair Insurance Responsibility Act addresses this consumer problem:

“On balance, SB 1237 (the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act) offers
fair and needed protections to injured innocent victims and reasonable
incentives for insurance companies to do the right and lawful thing”.

Consumers Union (the publisher of Consumer Reports), the Congress
of California Seniors, the Consumer Federation, and United
Policyholders—all supported the Governor and Legislature enacting
the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act.

The insurance companies’ campaign ads falsely accuse Governor
Gray Davis and the Legislature of giving drunk drivers the right to sue
under this new law.

Governor Davis’ office responded: “That’s certainly not what the

legislation does. Governor Davis signed measures that are good public
policy and protect individuals from being treated unfairly.”

The Fair Insurance Responsibility Act specifically prohibits drunk
drivers from suing and does not give uninsured motorists the right to
sue you.

No matter what the insurance company campaign says, the truth is
Governor Davis did not change Proposition 213 which prohibits
uninsured drivers from suing for pain and suffering.

The insurance companies are also falsely accusing Governor Davis of
signing a law which raises your premiums.

The truth is that insurance companies penalized for violating this
law cannot pass on those penalties to consumers by raising your
premiums. Read California’s law yourself: “Bad faith judgments and
associated loss adjustment expenses” are “excluded expenses” for setting
insurance compamny premiums.

The Los Angeles Times calls the insurance companies’ campaign “a
$50 million corporate effort . . . playing a complicated game with
voters . . . hiding behind a consumer veil.”

Support your rights. Support what Governor Gray Davis signed. He
did the right thing. Vote “Yes” to approve the Fair Insurance
Responsibility Act.

HOWARD L. OWENS

Executive Director, Consumer Federation of California
ROSEMARY SHAHAN

President, Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety

KAY McVAY, RN
President, California Nurses Association

Rebuttal to Argument in Favor of Proposition 31

PROPOSITIONS 30 and 31 ARE SPONSORED BY PERSONAL

INJURY LAWYERS BUT OPPOSED BY RESPECTED TAXPAYER,

CONSUMER, SENIOR, BUSINESS AND PUBLIC SAFETY LEADERS
Make no mistake. Personal injury lawyer-sponsored Propositions 30

and 31 will drive up insurance rates and fraud, allow two lawsuits for

every auto accident claim, reward uninsured and drunk drivers with a

new right to sue—and cost taxpayers millions.

THAT’S WHY PROPOSITIONS 30 AND 31 ARE OPPOSED BY:

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)

California Taxpayers’ Association

Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association

National Taxpayer Alliance

California Chamber of Commerce

California Manufacturers Association

National Federation of Independent Business

California Small Business Roundtable

Seniors Coalition

60 Plus Association

Voter Revolt

Consumers First

Consumers Coalition of California

California Alliance for Consumer Protection

Civil Justice Association of California

California Organization of Police and Sheriffs

Crime Victims United of California

California Correctional Peace Officers Association

California State Firefighters’ Association

Latin Business Association

California Mexican-American Chamber of Commerce
Black Business Association

US-Mexico Chamber of Commerce

California Black Chamber of Commerce

Hmong American Political Association

Schools Excess Liability Fund (SELF)

California Business Properties Association

U.S. Chamber of Commerce

American Association of Business Persons with Disabilities
Small Business Survival Committee

California Building Industry Association

California Grocers Association

Citizens for a Sound Economy

Citizens Against Lawsuit Abuse (Los Angeles, San Diego, Orange
County, Silicon Valley)

JOHN H. SULLIVAN

President, Civil Justice Association of California
LARRY McCARTHY

President, California Taxpayers’ Association

JOHN POWELL
C.0.0., Seniors Coalition

10 Arguments printed on this page are the opinions of the authors and have not been checked for accuracy by any official agency.

S2000



Insurance Claims Practices. Civil Remedy
Amendments. Referendum.

Argument Against Proposition 31

Personal injury lawyers wrote Proposition 31 (and Prop. 30) so they
could file more lawsuits that will increase insurance rates.

The Contra Costa Times says “. . . we can expect more litigation,
increased transaction costs and higher insurance rates . . . hardly the
consumer-friendly bill its proponents claim.”

If Propositions 31 or 30 pass, fee-seeking personal injury lawyers
reap billions of dollars from new lawsuits. Unfortunately, your
insurance premiums will skyrocket.

Under these laws, your insurer is threatened by a separate lawsuit
for huge punitive damages whenever it refuses to pay a bloated
settlement demand in a claim filed against you. When a law like
Propositions 31 and 30 existed in the 1980s, auto injury lawsuits filed
in California nearly doubled and insurance rates skyrocketed. When
the Supreme Court prohibited these abusive lawsuits, insurance rates
dropped substantially.

¢ Prop. 31, like Prop. 30, is unnecessary. If an injured consumer
believes that a settlement offer from an insurance company is too
low, he or she can already take that case to court for a jury to
decide the appropriate payment.

¢ Additionally, if treated unfairly, consumers can file a complaint
with the state Insurance Commissioner’s Enforcement Division.

¢ Propositions 31 and 30 add a whole new lawsuit on top of the first
one. That means higher rates for consumers.

¢ The former state Legislative Analyst predicts Proposition 31 could
raise your insurance premiums up to 15%—about $300 a year for
a typical consumer.

e Prop. 31 and 30 will result in more fraud, giving unscrupulous
personal injury lawyers a powerful tool to force insurance
companies to pay suspect claims.

e Worse, Proposition 31 changes the law so lawbreakers—like drunk
drivers and people who drive without insurance—can file new
multi-million dollar lawsuits for punitive damages.

PROPOSITION 31 EXEMPTS LAWYERS
Proposition 31 is a scam. When political problems emerged in

Proposition 30, personal injury lawyers wrote Proposition 31, and
passed it the same day without a public hearing.

But they made things worse. They wrote provisions to protect their
own insurers from these bad laws so their own insurance rates would
not increase!

“People who can least afford higher insurance premiums are hurt
most. While $300 may not seem like a lot to some, too many seniors on
fixed incomes and low-income families cannot afford the insurance
increase from Proposition 31.”

—The Seniors Coalition

“To enrich themselves, personal injury lawyers seem willing to pick
thedpockets of working men and women. We urge a No vote on Props. 31
and 30.”

—California Mexican American Chamber of Commerce

“Propositions 31 and 30 could easily cost taxpayers millions of dollars
annually in higher insurance costs for schools, cities and other local
government.”

—William Hamm
Former State Legislative Analyst

“Schools are especially hard-hit. We should not be forced by higher
insurance and lawsuit settlement costs to spend money that should be
used to improve classroom instruction.”

—Schools Excess Liability Fund (SELF)
PROPOSITION 31 AND 30 HURT AVERAGE PEOPLE
TO ENRICH PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS.
SAY NO TO A BAD LAW.

HARRIET C. SALARNO

President, Crime Victims United of California
JEFF SEDIVEC

President, California State Firefighters’ Association

BETTY JO TOCCOLI
Chair, California Small Business Roundtable

Rebuttal to Argument Against Proposition 31

Fair is fair. You pay your premiums on time—insurance companies
should pay your valid claim on time.

The insurance companies say Propositions 30 and 31 will double the
number of lawsuits. That’s false.

If an insurance company agrees to resolve your claim through
arbitration, there is no lawsuit. A lawsuit is only allowed if the bad
driver’s insurance company won’t pay what they owe you.

The insurance companies say Propositions 30 and 31 will allow
drunk drivers to sue. That’s false.

Governor Davis’ office responded: “That’s certainly not what the
legislation does.”

The insurance companies suggest Propositions 30 and 31 will allow
uninsured drivers to sue you. That’s false.

Consumer Federation of California says: “The Fair Insurance
Responsibility Act does not give uninsured drivers the right to sue you”.

The insurance companies say Propositions 30 and 31 will raise
premiums. That’s false.

The insurance companies oppose Propositions 30 and 31 because
state law does not allow insurance companies to raise premiums to pay
their penalties for violating the law.

The insurance companies say Propositions 30 and 31 will take money
from our schools. That’s false.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Delaine Eastin:
“Proposition 30 exempts public schools, police and fire departments and
other public entities.”

On your ballot Propositions 30 and 31 are accurately and simply
described as “legislation restoring rights to sue insurers for unfair
practices.”

Protect your rights. Vote “Yes” on 30 and 31.

HOWARD L. OWENS

Executive Director, Consumer Federation of California
ROSEMARY SHAHAN

President, Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety

KAY McVAY, R.N.
President, California Nurses Association

S2000  Arguments printed on this page are the opinions of the authors and have not been checked for accuracy by any official agency.
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Text of the Proposed Laws

Proposition 30: Text of Proposed Law

This law proposed by Senate Bill 1237 of the 1999-2000 Regular
Session (Chapter 720, Statutes of 1999) is submitted to the people as a
referendum in accordance with the provisions of Section 9 of Article 1T
of the California Constitution.

This proposed law adds sections to the Civil Code and the Code of
Civil Procedure; therefore, new provisions proposed to be added are
printed in italic type to indicate that they are new.

PROPOSED LAW

SECTION 1. This act shall be known and may be cited as the “Fair
Insurance Responsibility Act of 2000” or as “FAIR.”

SEC. 2. Title 13.7 (commencing with Section 2870) is added to Part
4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code, to read:

TITLE 13.7. OBLIGATION TO SETTLE
INSURANCE CLAIMS FAIRLY
2870. (a) For purposes of this title, the following definitions shall
apply:

(1) “Third-party claimant” or “claimant” shall mean each person
seeking recovery of benefits against an insured under a liability
insurance policy or a self-funded liability protection program, fund, or
plan, whether for personal injury or wrongful death, or other economic
loss, or both including, without limitation, damages resulting from loss
of consortium or loss of care, comfort, society and the like resulting from
wrongful death.

(2) “Insured” shall mean a person or entity named as an insured in a
liability insurance policy or a private self-funded liability protection
program, fund, or plan; a person or entity who is identified as an
additional insured under a liability insurance policy or a private
self-funded liability protection program, fund, or plan; a person or entity
who is an additional insured under the definitions of insured persons set
forth in a liability insurance policy or a private self-funded liability
protection program, fund, or plan; a person or entity who is defined, by
law, as an insured under a liability insurance policy or a private
self-funded liability protection program, fund, or plan; or cooperative
corporations or interindemnity arrangements provided for under
Section 1280.7 of the Insurance Code.

(3) “Insurer” shall include any liability insurer licensed pursuant to,
or subject to regulation under, the Insurance Code who provides liability
coverage to an insured against whom the third-party claimant makes a
claim for personal injury, wrongful death, or other economic loss, and
the third-party administrator of any private self-funded liability
protection program, fund, or plan; or cooperative corporations or
interindemnity arrangements provided for under Section 1280.7 of the
Insurance Code. However, “insurer” does not include the self-funded
liability protection program, fund, or plan, itself, an insurer named as
the insurer under a policy of workers’ compensation insurance, nor a
self-insured public entity, a private administrator for a public entity, or
a public entity insured by a private insurer or carrier. For purposes of
this section, “public entity” has the meaning set forth in Section 811.2 of
the Government Code.

2871. (a) Every insurer, as defined in paragraph (3) of subdivision
(@) of Section 2870, doing business in the State of California shall act in
good faith toward and deal fairly with third-party claimants. A
third-party claimant may bring an action against an insurer doing
business in the State of California to recover damages, including
general, special, and exemplary damages, for commission of any unfair
claims settlement practice specified in subdivision (h) of Section 790.03
of the Insurance Code as it relates to a third-party claimant.

(b) A third-party claimant shall not be entitled to assert the remedies
set forth in subdivision (a) unless the third-party claimant (1) obtains in
the underlying action a final judgment after trial, a judgment after
default, or an arbitration award arising from a contractual predispute
binding arbitration clause or agreement, and (2) the third-party
claimant makes a written demand by certified mail to settle the claim in
the underlying action, and the claimant’s judgment or arbitration
award in that prior proceeding exceeded the amount of the final written
demand on all claims by the third-party claimant made before the trial,
entry of default or arbitration listed above. A final written demand sent
by certified mail may not exceed the applicable policy limits and shall be
deemed rejected if not responded to within 30 days of receipt of the final
written demand. Subject to subdivision (h) of Section 790.03 of the
Insurance Code, the verdict’s amount may be considered as evidence of
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bad faith, but shall not be the sole consideration.

(¢) The remedies set forth in this title shall apply to any insurer who
violates the standards set forth in subdivision (a) in its handling,
processing, or settlement of the claims made by a third-party claimant
under the insured’s insurance protection.

(d) A professional liability insurer is not liable under this title if all
the following conditions apply:

(1) The consent of the policyholder to settlement is a prerequisite to
settlement under the terms of the insurance policy or by statute.

(2) The insurance company has assessed the case against the
policyholder as to potential liability and damages known at that time
and has fully informed the policyholder of that assessment.

(3) The policyholder’s refusal to consent is not based on intentionally
erroneous or misleading information provided by the insurer.

(e) A person injured in an accident arising out of the operation or use
of a motor vehicle, who at the time of the accident was operating a motor
vehicle in violation of Section 23152 or 23153 of the Vehicle Code, and
was convicted of that offense, may not assert a cause of action under this
section.

(f) Any time period within which an action must be commenced
pursuant to any applicable statute of limitations shall not begin until
the underlying claim has been resolved through a final judgment. In the
event of an appeal by either party, resolution of the appeal shall be a
prerequisite to a claim under this title.

(g) Nothing in this title shall abrogate or limit any theory of liability
or remedy otherwise available at law including, but not limited to, tort
remedies for the breach of implied covenant and fair dealing or any
theory of liability or remedy based on Comunale v. Traders & General
Ins. Co. (1958) 50 Cal.2d 654 or Crisci v. Security Ins. Co. (1967) 66
Cal.2d 425. Nothing in this section shall relieve an insurer of its
obligation of good faith and fair dealing to its own insured. However, the
insurer cannot wrongfully use its obligation to its own insured to violate
its duties under this section.

(h) The provisions of this title shall apply, prospectively, to events or
accidents covered by the applicable insurance policy that occur on or
after January 1, 2000.

SEC. 3. Title 11.65 (commencing with Section 1776) is added to
Part 3 of the Code of Civil Procedure, to read:

TITLE 11.65. ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE
RESOLUTION ACT

1776. For the purposes of this title, the following definitions apply:

(a) “Claimant” means a person defined in paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) of Section 2870 of the Civil Code.

(b) “Insurer” shall include any liability insurer licensed pursuant to
or subject to regulation under the Insurance Code, any private
self-funded liability protection program, fund or plan, and any person or
entity meeting the Vehicle Code definition of a permissible self-insured.
However, “insurer” does not include a self-insured public entity, a private
administrator for a public entity, or a public entity insured by a private
insurer or carrier. For purposes of this section, “public entity” has the
meaning set forth in Section 811.2 of the Government Code.

1777. (@) In a claim where the amount in controversy is for either a
dollar amount that does not exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000), or is
within policy limits, exclusive of applicable uninsured or underinsured
motorist coverage, if the policy limits do not exceed fifty thousand
dollars ($50,000), whichever is less, a claimant who is represented by
counsel may request arbitration pursuant to this title.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (b) of Section 2017, prior to a request
for arbitration, a claimant may demand and obtain insurance coverage
policy limits information concerning all applicable, and potentially
applicable, policies of insurance, to decide whether to participate in
arbitration as set forth in this title. The insurer shall respond within 10
days and verify in writing that the information about coverage and
policies is true and correct. An insurer that releases such information
shall not be subject to civil liability to the insured or any other insurer
for release of the policy limits information.

(¢c) An insurer may request arbitration under this title where the
claimant is represented by counsel under any of the following conditions:

(1) If a claimant makes a settlement demand against all responsible
or potentially responsible persons or entities that does not exceed fifty
thousand dollars ($50,000) in total, and the arbitration request is made
within 90 days of the settlement demand.
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(2) In any action in which the policy limits applicable to the claimant
do not exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000), provided that the request
for arbitration is made not later than 150 days after the service of the
complaint.

(3) Subject to paragraphs (1) and (2), in an action involving more
than one responsible party, an insurer may request arbitration under
this title if all parties agree to arbitration or the insurer offers to settle
the action for policy limits.

(d) The request for arbitration shall be in writing and sent by certified
mail.

(e) (1) Within 30 days after receipt of a request for arbitration, the
insurer or claimant shall respond to the request in writing, sent by
certified mail, return receipt requested.

(2) The request shall be deemed rejected if not responded to within 30
days, unless the parties stipulate in writing to an extension of time.

(f) Nothing in this section shall relieve an insurer of its obligation of
good faith and fair dealing to its own insured.

(g) An arbitration award pursuant to this section shall not exceed the
available policy limits and shall not include damages that are not
covered by the applicable insurance policies.

(h) A claimant or insurer requesting or agreeing to arbitration under
this section shall at the same time send by certified mail a copy of each
offer or agreement to arbitrate to all claimants and all insurers involved
in the claim. Offers and agreements made by counsel under this section
shall be deemed to be made with the authority of all clients represented
by that counsel. The arbitration of all claims under this title shall be
pursuant to a written arbitration agreement.

1778. If the insurer agrees to submit a claim to arbitration under
Section 1777 the insurer shall be conclusively presumed to have
complied with the duties under subdivision (a) of Section 2871 of the
Civil Code.

1779. (a) Upon a showing of good cause in a petition before the court
having jurisdiction over the amount in controversy, either side may
request removal from arbitration under this title and to commence or
continue a civil action, upon a showing of any of the following:

(1) Either party discovers new information regarding insurance
coverage that creates aggregate coverage for the claim in excess of fifty
thousand dollars ($50,000).

(2) A change in the nature or extent of the claimant’s injury or
damages, which, despite reasonable inquiry, was not discovered prior to
the acceptance of the offer to engage in alternative dispute resolution,
and causes the claimant or attorney to believe that the reasonable value
of the claim will exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).

(3) A party discovers new, additional, potentially responsible persons
or entities who are not parties to the arbitration.

(4) The insurer discovers evidence that the claim is in violation of
Section 550 of the Penal Code. The insurer shall document the basis for
its finding and provide the information to the court. The court shall
make the information available to the claimant or his or her counsel, if
represented, unless the court determines that releasing the information
would substantially impede the investigation or future prosecution of the
claim for fraud.

(5) A change of law affects the remedies available to a claimant, or a
change in law expands or contracts the claimant’s legal right to recover.

(6) The interests of justice support permitting a party to commence a
civil action.

(7) A party unreasonably interferes with the completion of the
arbitration.

(b) Within 60 days of discovery of one of the conditions outlined in
subdivision (a), and before commencement of the arbitration, the party
seeking to remove the claim from arbitration under this title shall
petition the court having jurisdiction over the amount in controversy,
establishing good cause for the request.

(¢) If a court finds good cause pursuant to a petition filed by a
claimant to remove the claim from arbitration under subdivision (a), the
presumption of good faith under Section 1778 shall not apply if the good
cause arises from a misrepresentation, error or unreasonable
interference in the conduct of the arbitration by the insurer.

(d) If the insurer removes the claim from arbitration pursuant to this

title, the presumption of good faith under Section 1778 does not apply.

1780. (a) Any applicable period of limitations shall be tolled from
the date of receipt of a request to participate in arbitration until 30 days
after the insurer responds to the offer. If the request for arbitration is
accepted, the period is tolled until settlement, satisfaction of judgment,
or 30 days after a court order to remove a claim from arbitration under
Section 1779.

(b) Any applicable case management rules are suspended upon
agreement of the parties to arbitrate a claim under this title.
Additionally, an agreement to participate in arbitration under this title
relieves the parties of any obligation to participate in court-ordered
arbitration or mediation.

1781. Except as otherwise provided by this title, arbitration shall be
conducted under the same procedures as are applicable to other
arbitration agreements under Title 9 (commencing with Section 1280).

1782. The following additional and supplemental provisions govern
arbitration under this title:

(a) The provisions of Section 1987 shall govern attendance of parties
at arbitration.

(b) Arbitrators shall be paid at the prevailing rate for judicial
arbitrators. The cost of the arbitrator will be borne equally between the
insurers and the claimants. The obligation of the parties for the
arbitrator’s fee does not include preparation time, travel time, and
postarbitration time, unless the parties agree otherwise.

(¢c) The parties shall select a single neutral arbitrator pursuant to
Section 1281.6. Unless the parties agree otherwise, the arbitrator shall
be a retired judge.

(d) The parties to the arbitration shall pay an arbitration filing fee of
two hundred dollars ($200). The fee shall be borne in equal portions by
each party to the arbitration.

(e) If the parties cannot agree on a date to commence arbitration, the
arbitrator shall set a date convenient to the parties.

(f) Disputes arising regarding discovery shall be resolved by motion
before the arbitrator. The arbitration shall be deemed to be a proceeding
and the hearing before the arbitrator shall be deemed to be the trial of an
issue for those purposes.

(g) No party may introduce new or different information from that
provided under subdivision (f) at the arbitration unless it is provided to
the other side at least 30 days before the arbitration except when such
evidence is offered solely for impeachment. Upon a showing of good
cause under Section 9 of the Standards for Judicial Administration, the
arbitrator may grant a continuance to permit the introduction of the new
information.

(h) Each party shall exchange a list of all witnesses and all exhibits
no later than 20 days before the arbitration. Witnesses and exhibits not
listed shall not be considered or relied upon by the arbitrator unless
offered solely for impeachment.

(i) If more than one person or insurer may be liable for the injury, and
if the actions against each are subject to this title, the arbitration
proceedings with respect to each may be consolidated by agreement of
the parties.

(j) The rules of evidence and rules for conduct of hearing set forth in
Rules 1613 and 1614 of the California Rules of Court, shall apply to the
arbitration.

(k) The arbitrator may continue the arbitration pursuant to Section 9
of the Standards of Judicial Administration.

1783. (a) The award shall be binding on all parties and upon the
insurer and shall resolve all disputes between the parties, and may be
reviewed only for the reasons set forth in Section 1286.2.

(b) The insurer shall satisfy the arbitration award within 20 days of
conclusion of any postresolution motions or settlement. Interest shall
accrue at the legal rate thereafter.

1784. A claimant and an insurer may agree in writing to submit any
claim for personal injury or wrongful death to arbitration pursuant to
this title, provided that the notice requirements set forth in Section 1777
are met. The agreement to, and subsequent participation in, binding
arbitration by the parties provides the protections set forth in
Section 1778.
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Proposition 31: Text of Proposed Law

Sections 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9 of this law proposed by Assembly Bill 1309
of the 1999-2000 Regular Session (Chapter 721, Statutes of 1999) are
submitted to the people as a referendum in accordance with the
provisions of Section 9 of Article II of the California Constitution.

This proposed law amends and adds sections to various codes;
therefore, existing prov1s,10ns proposed to be deleted are printed in
strikeout type and new provisions proposed to be added are printed in
italic type to indicate that they are new.

PROPOSED LAW

SEC. 2. Section 2870 of the Civil Code, as added by Senate Bill
1237 of the 1999-2000 Regular Session, is amended to read:

2870. (a) For purposes of this title, the following definitions shall
apply:

(1) “Third-party claimant” or “claimant” shall mean each person
individual seeking recovery of benefits against an insured under a
liability insurance policy or a self-funded liability protection program,
fund, or plan, whether for personal bodily injury er ; wrongful death ;;
or other economic toss; or both property damage resulting from an
incident involving a motor vehicle; including, without limitation,
damages resulting from loss of consortium or loss of care, comfort,
society and the like resulting from wrongful death.

(2) “Insured” shall mean a natural person or entity named as an
insured in a liability insurance policy or a private self-funded liability
protection program, fund, or plan; a natural person or entity who is
identified as an additional insured under a liability insurance policy or
a private self-funded liability protection program, fund, or plan; a
natural person or entity who is an additional insured under the
definitions of insured persons set forth in a liability insurance policy or
a private self-funded liability protection program, fund, or plan; a
natural person or entity who is defined, by law, as an insured under a
liability insurance policy or a private self-funded liability protection
program, fund, or plan; or cooperative corporations or interindemnity
arrangements provided for under Section 1280.7 of the Insurance Code.

(3) “Insurer” shall inelude mean any habitity insurer licensed
pursuant to, or subject to regulation under, the Insurance Code who
which provides liability esverage insurance to an insured against whom
the a third-party claimant makes a claim for personat bodily injury,
wrongfut death; or other economie toss; or for property damage resulting
from an incident involving a motor vehicle, and the third-party
administrator of any private self-funded liability protection program,
fund, or plan; or cooperative corporations or interindemnity
arrangements provided for under Section 1280.7 of the Insurance Code.
However, “insurer” does not include the self-funded liability protection
program, fund, or plan, itself, an insurer named as the insurer under a
policy of workers’ compensation insurance, nor a self-insured public
entity, a private administrator for a public entity, or a public entity
insured by a private insurer or carrier. For purposes of this section,
“public entity” has the meaning set forth in Section 811.2 of the
Government Code.

(4) “Liability insurance” shall mean that portion of a personal or
commercial insurance policy or a private self-funded liability protection
program, fund or plan, which provides liability coverage for bodily
injury, or for property damage resulting from an incident involving a
motor vehicle.

(56) “Bodily injury” shall mean actual physical injury, sickness, or
disease sustained by a person, including death therefrom. “Bodily
injury” shall not mean (a) emotional distress, of any kind, resulting from
economic loss, or (b) emotional distress resulting from a cause other than
economic loss unless accompanied by actual physical manifestations of
such emotional distress.

SEC. 3. Section 2871 of the Civil Code, as added by Senate Bill
1237 of the 1999-2000 Regular Session, is amended to read:

2871. (a) (1) Every insurer, as defined in paragraph (3) of
subdivision (a) of Section 2870, doing business in the State of California
shall act in good faith toward and deal fairly with third-party
claimants. A third-party claimant may bring an action against an
insurer doing business in the State of California to recover damages,
including general, special, and exemplary damages, for commission of
any unfair claims settlement practice specified in paragraph (1), (2), (3),
(5), (8), (9), (10), (11), (12), (13), (14), or (15) of subdivision (h) of Section
790.03 of the Insurance Code as it relates to a third-party claimant.
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(2) (A) In considering a third-party claim an insurer shall make an
honest, intelligent and knowledgeable evaluation of the claim on its
merits. However, an insurer shall not be considered to have violated its
obligation to act in good faith and deal fairly with a third-party
claimant because of the insurer’s honest mistake in judgment in
connection with the settlement of a claim.

(B) The fact that an insurer did not settle a claim is not necessarily
proof of bad faith.

(b) A third-party claimant shall not be entitled to assert the remedies
set forth in subdivision (a) unless the third-party claimant (1) obtains
in the underlying action a final judgment after trial, a judgment after
default, or an arbitration award arising from a contractual predispute
binding arbitration clause or agreement, and (2) the third-party
claimant makes a written demand by certified mail to settle the claim
in the underlying action, and the claimant’s judgment or arbitration
award in that prior proceeding exceeded the amount of the final written
demand on all claims by the third-party claimant made before the trial,
entry of default or arbitration listed above. A The final written demand
sent by certified mail may not exceed the applicable policy limits and
shall be deemed rejected if not responded to within 30 days of receipt of
the final written demand. Subject to subdivision th) of Section 796-03 of
the Insurance €ode; the verdict’s amount may be considered as
evidence of bad faith; but shall not be the sole consideration:

(¢) The remedies set forth in this title shall apply to any insurer who
violates the standards set forth in subdivision (a) in its handling,
processing, or settlement of the claims made by a third-party claimant
under the insured’s insurance protection.

(d) A professional liability insurer for medical, health care, or legal
malpractice is not liable under this title if alt both of the following
conditions apply:

(1) The consent of the policyholder to settlement is a prerequisite to
settlement under the terms of the insuranece poliey or by statute:

2) The insurance company has assessed the case against the
poticyholder as to potential hability and damages known at that time
and has fully informed the polieyholder of that assessment:

3 The pﬁ-hcyho-}der-s refusal to consent is not based on intentionally
erroneous or information provided by the insurer: .

(2) The policyholder withholds consent to settlement.

(e) A person injured in an accident arising out of the operation or use
of a motor vehicle, who at the time of the accident was operating a
motor vehicle in violation of Section 23152 or 23153 of the Vehicle Code,
and was convicted of that offense, may not assert a cause of action
under this section.

(f) Any time period within which an action must be commenced
pursuant to any applicable statute of limitations shall not begin until
the underlying claim has been resolved through a final judgment. In
the event of an appeal by either party, resolution of the appeal shall be
a prerequisite to a claim under this title.

(g) Nothing in this title shall abrogate or limit any theory of liability
or remedy otherwise available at law including, but not limited to, tort
remedies for the breach of implied covenant and fair dealing or any
theory of liability or remedy based on Comunale v. Traders & General
Ins. Co. (1958) 50 Cal.2d 654 or Crisci v. Security Ins. Co. (1967) 66
Cal.2d 425. Nothing in this seetion shall relieve an insurer of its
obligation of good faith and fair dealing to its own insured: However;
the insurer eannoet wrongfully use its ebligation to its ewn insured to

(h) Theprevrsmsefﬂﬂstrﬂeshaﬁapp}y-pmspeeﬁve}ytaeventser
aceidents covered by the a-pp-hca-b-}e insurance policy that oceur on or
after danuary 1; 2000 The provisions of this title are prospective and
are only applicable as follows:

(1) To accidents, events, occurrences, or losses that occur on or after
January 1, 2000.

(2) To conduct by any insurer, its agents or employees concerning
accidents, events, occurrences, or losses that occur on or after January 1,
2000.

SEC. 4. Section 1778 of the Code of Civil Procedure, as added by
Senate Bill 1237 of the 1999-2000 Regular Session, is amended to read:

1778. If the insurer requests or agrees to submit a claim to
arbitration under Section 1777 the insurer shall be conclusively
presumed to have complied with the duties under subdivision (a) of
Section 2871 of the Civil Code.
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SEC. 6. Section 1872.91 is added to the Insurance Code, to read:

1872.91. (a) The State Auditor shall prepare a report analyzing and
evaluating the effect of the Fair Insurance Responsibility Act of 2000
(FAIR) on California insurance claims practices and rates. The report
shall identify changes in claim practices and patterns caused by the
enactment of FAIR. The report shall be delivered to the Governor and the
Legislature on or before January 1, 2005. The report shall be funded
from existing resources of the State Auditor. The report shall include, but
not be limited to, an analysis of the following:

(1) The number of complaints to the Department of Insurance
regarding unfair claims settlement practices.

(2) The number and type of actions taken by the Department of
Insurance in response to those complaints.

(3) The number of cases in which the parties enter into voluntary
binding arbitration under Title 11.65 (commencing with Section 1776) of
Part 3 of the Code of Civil Procedure, and the disposition of those cases,
including whether the use of retired judges as arbitrators has provided
an adequate pool of arbitrators.

(4) The number of cases that proceed to trial and the disposition of
these cases, including appeals.

(5) The number of actions filed under Title 13.7 (commencing with
Section 2870) of Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code, and the
disposition of these cases, including appeals.

(6) An analysis of the disposition of cases of third-party claimants
who are not eligible to file a bad faith action and whether these
claimants have been subject to unfair claims settlement practices.

(b) As part of the study, the State Auditor shall conduct a statistical
closed claim study to compare auto insurance claims closed in 1999 and
2003. The study shall provide at least the same kinds of information as
the August 1990 study, “Automobile Claims, A study of Closed Claim
Payments Patterns in California,” prepared by the Statistical Analysis
Bureau. The Insurance Commissioner shall cooperate with the State

Auditor in this study, and shall provide information requested by the
State Auditor. The study shall identify the component costs of claims,
including, but not limited to, the items listed in subdivision (c) by
coverage for major settlement methods, including each of the following:

(1) Closed without payment, no litigation.

(2) Closed with payment, no litigation.

(3) Closed without payment, litigated.

(4) Closed with payment after mediation.

(5) Closed with payment after judicial arbitration.

(6) Closed with payment after voluntary binding arbitration.

(7) Closed with payment after trial, including appeals.

(¢) The part of the study required in subdivision (b) shall include the
following items, shown separately by coverage:

(1) Number of claims.

(2) Amount of losses or claim payouts, including both economic
damages shown separately by category and noneconomic damages.

(3) Punitive damages or bad faith awards, when applicable.

(4) Defense costs.

(5) Other claim or loss adjustment expenses.

(6) Time period between filing of claim and final settlement.

SEC. 8. The provisions of Sections 2, 3, and 5 of this act, the
provisions of Title 13.7 (commencing with Section 2870) of Part 4 of
Division 3 of the Civil Code, and the provisions of Title 11.65
(commencing with Section 1776) of Part 3 of the Code of Civil
Procedure, are severable. If any of those provisions or any of their
applications is held invalid, that invalidity shall not affect other
provisions or applications that can be given effect without the invalid
provision or application.

SEC. 9. Sections 2, 3, 5, and 7 of this act shall not become operative
unless Senate Bill 1237 of the 1999-2000 Regular Session is enacted,
becomes operative, and this act is chaptered after Senate Bill 1237.
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