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PROPOSITION 15 CONTINUED

the validity of the remaining portions of this act. The
people of the State of California hereby declare that
they would have adopted this act and each and every
portion, section, subdivision, paragraph, clause,
sentence, phrase, word, and application not declared
invalid or unconstitutional without regard to whether
any portion of this act or application thereof would be
subsequently declared invalid. Notwithstanding the
foregoing, Section 7 of this act is non-severable from
Section 6 of this act.

SEC. 11.

This act shall be liberally construed in order to
effectuate its purposes as articulated in Section 3 of
this act.

PROPOSITION 16

This amendment proposed by Assembly Constitutional
Amendment 5 of the 2019-2020 Regular Session
(Resolution Chapter 23, Statutes of 2020) expressly
amends the California Constitution by repealing a
section thereof; therefore, existing provisions proposed

to be deleted are printed in strikeotttype.
PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE |

That Section 31 of Article | thereof is repealed.

Liberal Construction.
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PROPOSITION 17

This amendment proposed by Assembly Constitutional
Amendment 6 of the 2019-2020 Regular Session
(Resolution Chapter 24, Statutes of 2020) expressly
amends the California Constitution by amending
sections thereof; therefore, existing provisions
proposed to be deleted are printed in strikeout—type
and new provisions proposed to be added are printed
in italic type to indicate that they are new.

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO ARTICLE 11

First—That Section 2 of Article Il thereof is amended
to read:

SEC. 2. (a) A United States citizen 18 years of age
and resident in this State may vote.

(b) An elector disqualified from voting while serving a
state or federal prison term, as described in Section
4, shall have their right to vote restored upon the
completion of their prison term.

Second—That Section 4 of Article Il thereof is
amended to read:
SEC. 4. The Legislature shall prohibit improper

practices that affect elections and shall provide for
the disqualification of electors while mentally

incompetent or imprisonred-or-on-parote serving a state

or federal prison term for the conviction of a felony.

PROPOSITION 18

This amendment proposed by Assembly Constitutional
Amendment 4 of the 2019-2020 Regular Session
(Resolution Chapter 30, Statutes of 2020) expressly
amends the California Constitution by amending a
section thereof; therefore, new provisions proposed to
be added are printed in italic type to indicate that
they are new.

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE I

That Section 2 of Article Il thereof is amended to
read:

SEC. 2. (a) A United States citizen who is at least
18 years of age and a resident in this State may vote.

(b) A United States citizen who is 17 years of age, is
a resident in this State, and will be at least 18 years
of age at the time of the next general election may
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PROPOSITION 18 CONTINUED

vote in any primary or special election that occurs
before the next general election in which the citizen
would be eligible to vote if at least 18 years of age.

PROPOSITION 19

This amendment proposed by Assembly Constitutional
Amendment 11 of the 2019-2020 Regular Session
(Resolution Chapter 31, Statutes of 2020) expressly
amends the California Constitution by adding sections
thereto; therefore, new provisions proposed to be
added are printed in Jjtalic type to indicate that they
are new.

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO ARTICLE X111A

First—This measure shall be known, and may be
cited, as the Home Protection for Seniors, Severely
Disabled, Families, and Victims of Wildfire or Natural
Disasters Act.

Second—That Section 2.1 is added to Article XIITA
thereof, to read:

SEC. 2.1. (a) Limitation on Property Tax Increases
on Primary Residences for Seniors, the Severely
Disabled, Wildfire and Natural Disaster Victims, and
Families. It is the intent of the Legislature in
proposing, and the people in adopting, this section to
do both of the following:

(1) Limit property tax increases on primary residences
by removing unfair location restrictions on
homeowners who are severely disabled, victims of
wildfires or other natural disasters, or seniors over 55
years of age that need to move closer to family or
medical care, downsize, find a home that better fits
their needs, or replace a damaged home and Ilimit
damage from wildfires on homes through dedicated
funding for fire protection and emergency response.

(2) Limit property tax increases on family homes used
as a primary residence by protecting the right of
parents and grandparents to pass on their family home
to their children and grandchildren for continued use
as a primary residence, while eliminating unfair tax
loopholes used by East Coast investors, celebrities,
wealthy non-California residents, and trust fund heirs
to avoid paying a fair share of property taxes on
vacation homes, income properties, and beachfront
rentals they own in California.

(b) Property Tax Fairness for Seniors, the Severely
Disabled, and Victims of Wildfire and Natural
Disasters. Notwithstanding any other provision of this
Constitution or any other law, beginning on and after
April 1, 2021, the following shall apply:

(1) Subject to applicable procedures and definitions
as provided by statute, an owner of a primary
residence who is over 55 years of age, severely
disabled, or a victim of a wildfire or natural disaster
may transfer the taxable value of their primary
residence to a replacement primary residence located

anywhere in this state, regardless of the location or
value of the replacement primary residence, that is
purchased or newly constructed as that person’s
principal residence within two years of the sale of the
original primary residence.

(2) For purposes of this subdivision:

(A) For any transfer of taxable value to a replacement
primary residence of equal or lesser value than the
original primary residence, the taxable value of the
replacement primary residence shall be deemed to be
the taxable value of the original primary residence.

(B) For any transfer of taxable value to a replacement
primary residence of greater value than the original
primary residence, the taxable value of the
replacement primary residence shall be calculated by
adding the difference between the full cash value of
the original primary residence and the full cash value
of the replacement primary residence to the taxable
value of the original primary residence.

(3) An owner of a primary residence who is over 55
years of age or severely disabled shall not be allowed
to transfer the taxable value of a primary residence
more than three times pursuant to this subdivision.

(4) Any person who seeks to transfer the taxable value
of their primary residence pursuant to this subdivision
shall file an application with the assessor of the
county in which the replacement primary residence is
located. The application shall, at minimum, include
information comparable to that identified in paragraph
(1) of subdivision (f) of Section 69.5 of the Revenue
and Taxation Code, as that section read on January 1,
2020.

(c) Property Tax Fairness for Family Homes.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this
Constitution or any other law, beginning on and after
February 16, 2021, the following shall apply:

(1) For purposes of subdivision (a) of Section 2, the
terms “purchased” and “change in ownership” do not
include the purchase or transfer of a family home of
the transferor in the case of a transfer between
parents and their children, as defined by the
Legislature, if the property continues as the family
home of the transferee. This subdivision shall apply to
both voluntary transfers and transfers resulting from a
court order or judicial decree. The new taxable value
of the family home of the transferee shall be the sum
of both of the following:

(A) The taxable value of the family home, subject to
adjustment as authorized by subdivision (b) of Section
2, determined as of the date immediately prior to the
date of the purchase by, or transfer to, the transferee.
(B) The applicable of the following amounts:

(i) If the assessed value of the family home upon
purchase by, or transfer to, the transferee is less than
the sum of the taxable value described in
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