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General shall appoint independent counsel to 
faithfully and vigorously defend this act on behalf of 
the State of California. 

(b) Before appointing or thereafter substituting 
independent counsel, the Attorney General shall 
exercise due diligence in determining the 
qualifcations of independent counsel and shall obtain 
written affrmation from independent counsel that 
independent counsel will faithfully and vigorously 
defend this act. The written affrmation shall be made 
publicly available upon request. 

(c) In order to support the defense of this act in 
instances where the Governor and Attorney General 
fail to do so despite the will of the voters, a continuous 
appropriation is hereby made from the General Fund 
to the Controller, without regard to fscal years, in an 
amount necessary to cover the costs of retaining 
independent counsel to faithfully and vigorously 
defend this act on behalf of the State of California. 

SEC. 5. Liberal Construction. 

This act shall be liberally construed in order to 
effectuate its purposes. 

PROPOSITION 23 
This initiative measure is submitted to the people in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 8 of Article 
II of the California Constitution. 

This initiative measure adds sections to the Health 
and Safety Code; therefore, new provisions proposed 
to be added are printed in italic type to indicate that 
they are new. 

PROPOSED LAW 
SECTION 1. Name. 

This act shall be known as the “Protect the Lives of 
Dialysis Patients Act.” 

SEC. 2. Findings and Purposes. 

This act, adopted by the people of the State of 
California, makes the following fndings and has the 
following purposes: 

(a) The people make the following fndings: 

(1) Kidney dialysis is a life-saving process in which 
blood is removed from a person’s body, cleaned of 
toxins, and then returned to the patient. It must be 
done at least three times a week for several hours a 
session, and the patient must continue treatment for 
the rest of their life or until they can obtain a kidney 
transplant. 

(2) In California, at least 70,000 people undergo 
dialysis treatment. 

(3) Just two multinational, for-proft corporations 
operate or manage nearly three-quarters of dialysis 
clinics in California and treat more than 75 percent of 
dialysis patients in the state. These two multinational 

corporations annually earn billions of dollars from 
their dialysis operations, including more than $350 
million a year in California alone. 

(4) The dialysis procedure and side effects from the 
treatments present several dangers to patients, and 
many dialysis clinics in California have been cited for 
failure to maintain proper standards of care. Failure to 
maintain proper standards can lead to patient harm, 
hospitalizations, and even death. 

(5) Dialysis clinics are currently not required to 
maintain a doctor on site to oversee quality, ensure 
the patient plan of care is appropriately followed, and 
monitor safety protocols. Patients should have access 
to a physician on site whenever dialysis treatment is 
being provided. 

(6) Dialysis treatments involve direct access to the 
bloodstream, which puts patients at heightened risk of 
getting dangerous infections. Proper reporting and 
transparency of infection rates encourages clinics to 
improve quality and helps patients make the best 
choice for their care. 

(7) When health care facilities like hospitals and 
nursing homes close, California regulators are able to 
take steps to protect patients from harm. Likewise, 
strong protections should be provided to vulnerable 
patients when dialysis clinics close. 

(8) Dialysis corporations have lobbied against efforts 
to enact protections for kidney dialysis patients in 
California, spending over $100 million in 2018 and 
2019 to infuence California voters and the 
Legislature. 

(b) Purposes: 

(1) It is the purpose of this act to ensure that 
outpatient kidney dialysis clinics provide quality and 
affordable patient care to people suffering from end-
stage renal disease. 

(2) This act is intended to be budget neutral for the 
state to implement and administer. 

SEC. 3. Section 1226.7 is added to the Health and 
Safety Code, to read: 

1226.7. (a) Chronic dialysis clinics shall provide 
the same quality of care to their patients without 
discrimination on the basis of who is responsible for 
paying for a patient’s treatment. Further, chronic 
dialysis clinics shall not refuse to offer or to provide 
care on the basis of who is responsible for paying for a 
patient’s treatment. Such prohibited discrimination 
includes, but is not limited to, discrimination on the 
basis that a payer is an individual patient, private 
entity, insurer, Medi-Cal, Medicaid, or Medicare. This 
section shall also apply to a chronic dialysis clinic’s 
governing entity, which shall ensure that no 
discrimination prohibited by this section occurs at or 
among clinics owned or operated by the governing 
entity. 

(b) Defnitions: 
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(1) “Chronic dialysis clinic” has the same meaning as 
in Section 1204. 

(2) “Governing entity” means a person, frm, 
association, partnership, corporation, or other entity 
that owns or operates a chronic dialysis clinic for 
which a license has been issued, without respect to 
whether the person or entity itself directly holds that 
license. 

SEC. 4. Section 1226.8 is added to the Health and 
Safety Code, to read: 

1226.8. (a) Every chronic dialysis clinic must 
maintain, at the chronic dialysis clinic’s expense, at 
least one licensed physician present onsite during all 
times that in-center dialysis patients are being 
treated. This physician shall have authority and 
responsibility over patient safety and to direct the 
provision and quality of medical care. 

(1) A chronic dialysis clinic may apply to the 
department for an exception to the requirement in 
subdivision (a) on the grounds that a bona fde 
shortage of qualifed physicians prevents it from 
satisfying the requirement. Upon such a showing, the 
department may grant an exception that permits the 
clinic to satisfy the requirement in subdivision (a) by 
having at minimum one of the following onsite during 
all times that in-center dialysis patients are being 
treated: a licensed physician, a nurse practitioner, or a 
physician assistant. 

(2) The duration of an exception granted by the 
department pursuant to paragraph (1) shall be one 
calendar year from the date the clinic is notifed of the 
department's determination. 

(b) For each chronic dialysis clinic, the clinic or its 
governing entity shall quarterly report to the 
department, on a form and schedule prescribed by the 
department, dialysis clinic health care associated 
infection (“dialysis clinic HAI”) data, including the 
incidence and type of dialysis clinic HAIs at each 
chronic dialysis clinic in California and such other 
information as the department shall deem appropriate 
to provide transparency on dialysis clinic HAI rates 
and promote patient safety. The chief executive offcer 
or other principal offcer of the clinic or governing 
entity shall certify under penalty of perjury that the 
offcer is satisfed, after review, that the dialysis clinic 
HAI report submitted to the department is accurate 
and complete. The department shall post on its 
internet website the dialysis clinic HAI data from this 
report, at the same level of detail as provided in the 
report. The posted information shall include 
information identifying the governing entity of each 
chronic dialysis clinic. 

(1) In addition to reporting to the department 
pursuant to the requirements of this subdivision, 
chronic dialysis clinics shall report dialysis clinic HAI 
data to the National Healthcare Safety Network in 

accordance with National Healthcare Safety Network 
requirements and procedures. 

(2) In the event the department determines that a 
chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity failed to 
maintain the information or timely submit a report 
required under this subdivision, or that the report 
submitted was inaccurate or incomplete, the 
department shall assess a penalty against the chronic 
dialysis clinic or governing entity not to exceed 
one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). The 
department shall determine the amount of the penalty 
based on the severity of the violation, the materiality 
of the inaccuracy or omitted information, and the 
strength of the explanation, if any, for the violation. 
Penalties collected pursuant to this paragraph shall be 
used by the department to implement and enforce 
laws governing chronic dialysis clinics. 

(c) Defnitions. For purposes of this section: 

(1) “Chronic dialysis clinic” has the same meaning as 
in Section 1204. 

(2) “Dialysis clinic HAI” means a bloodstream 
infection, local access site infection, or vascular 
access infection related to a dialysis event as defned 
by the National Healthcare Safety Network of the 
federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or 
any appropriate additional or alternative defnition 
that the department defnes by regulation. 

(3) “Governing entity” has the same meaning as in 
Section 1226.7. 

(4) “Licensed physician” means a nephrologist or 
other physician licensed by the state pursuant to 
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 2000) of 
Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code. 

(5) “National Healthcare Safety Network” means the 
secure, internet-based system developed and 
managed by the federal Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention that collects, analyzes, and reports 
risk-adjusted dialysis clinic HAI data related to the 
incidence of HAIs and the process measures 
implemented to prevent these infections, or any 
successor data collection system that serves 
substantially the same purpose. 

(6) “Nurse practitioner” means a registered nurse 
licensed pursuant to Chapter 6 (commencing with 
Section 2700) of Division 2 of the Business and 
Professions Code and certifed as a nurse practitioner 
by the Board of Registered Nursing. 

(7) “Physician assistant” means a physician assistant 
licensed pursuant to Chapter 7.7 (commencing with 
Section 3500) of Division 2 of the Business and 
Professions Code. 

SEC. 5. Section 1226.9 is added to the Health and 
Safety Code, to read: 

1226.9. (a) Prior to closing a chronic dialysis clinic, 
or substantially reducing or eliminating the level of 
services provided by a chronic dialysis clinic, the 
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clinic or its governing entity must provide written 
notice to, and obtain the written consent of, the 
department. 

(b) The department shall have discretion to consent 
to, give conditional consent to, or not consent to, any 
proposed closure or substantial reduction or 
elimination of services. In making its determination, 
the department may take into account information 
submitted by the clinic, its governing entity, and any 
other interested party, and shall consider any factors 
that the department considers relevant, including, but 
not limited to, the following: 

(1) The effect on the availability and accessibility of 
health care services to the affected community, 
including, but not limited to, the clinic’s detailed plan 
for ensuring patients will have uninterrupted access to 
care. 

(2) Evidence of good faith efforts by the clinic or 
governing entity to sell, lease, or otherwise transfer 
ownership or operations of the clinic to another entity 
that would provide chronic dialysis care. 

(3) The fnancial resources of the clinic and its 
governing entity. 

(c) Defnitions: 

(1) “Chronic dialysis clinic” has the same meaning as 
in Section 1204. 

(2) “Governing entity” has the same meaning as in 
Section 1226.7. 

SEC. 6. Section 1226.10 is added to the Health 
and Safety Code, to read: 

1226.10. (a) If a chronic dialysis clinic or governing 
entity disputes a determination by the department 
pursuant to Section 1226.8 or 1226.9, the chronic 
dialysis clinic or governing entity may, within 10 
working days, request a hearing pursuant to Section 
131071. A chronic dialysis clinic or governing entity 
shall pay all administrative penalties when all appeals 
have been exhausted if the department's position has 
been upheld. 

(b) Defnitions: 

(1) “Chronic dialysis clinic” has the same meaning as 
in Section 1204. 

(2) “Governing entity” has the same meaning as in 
Section 1226.7. 

SEC. 7. Section 1266.3 is added to the Health and 
Safety Code, to read: 

1266.3. It is the intent of the people that California 
taxpayers not be fnancially responsible for 
implementation and enforcement of the Protect the 
Lives of Dialysis Patients Act. In order to effectuate 
that intent, when calculating, assessing, and 
collecting fees imposed on chronic dialysis clinics 
pursuant to Section 1266, the department shall take 
into account all costs associated with implementing 
and enforcing Sections 1226.7 to 1226.10, inclusive. 

SEC. 8. Nothing in this act is intended to affect 
health facilities licensed pursuant to subdivision (a), 
(b), or (f) of Section 1250 of the Health and Safety 
Code. 

SEC. 9. (a) The State Department of Public Health 
is authorized to and, within one year following the 
act’s effective date, shall adopt regulations 
implementing Sections 1226.8 and 1226.9 of the 
Health and Safety Code to further the purposes of this 
act. 

(b) If the department is unable to adopt the required 
fnal regulations within one year following the act’s 
effective date, the adoption of emergency 
implementing regulations shall be deemed an 
emergency and necessary for the immediate 
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or 
general welfare, in which case the department shall 
adopt initial emergency implementing regulations no 
later than one year following the act’s effective date, 
or as soon thereafter as is practicable. If such 
emergency regulations are adopted, the department 
shall adopt the required fnal regulations by the time 
the emergency regulations expire. 

SEC. 10. Pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 10 
of Article II of the California Constitution, this act may 
be amended either by a subsequent measure 
submitted to a vote of the people at a statewide 
election; or by a statute validly passed by the 
Legislature and signed by the Governor, but only to 
further the purposes of the act. 

SEC. 11. (a) In the event that this initiative 
measure and another initiative measure or measures 
relating to dialysis (including, but not limited to, the 
regulation of chronic dialysis clinics or the treatment 
and care of dialysis patients) shall appear on the same 
statewide election ballot, the other initiative measure 
or measures shall be deemed to be in confict with 
this measure. In the event that this initiative measure 
receives the highest number of affrmative votes, the 
provisions of this measure shall prevail in their 
entirety, and the provisions of the other initiative 
measure or measures shall be null and void. 

(b) If this initiative is approved by the voters but 
superseded in whole or in part by any other conficting 
ballot measure approved by the voters at the same 
election, and such conficting measure is later held 
invalid, this measure shall be self-executing and given 
full force and effect. 

23 

SEC. 12. The provisions of this act are severable. If 
any provision of this act or its application is held 
invalid, that invalidity shall not affect the remaining 
portions of this act or any application that can be 
given effect without the invalid provision or 
application. The people of the State of California 
hereby declare that they would have adopted this act 
and each and every portion, section, subdivision, 
paragraph, clause, sentence, phrase, word, and 
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application not declared invalid or unconstitutional 
without regard to whether any portion of this act or 
application thereof would be subsequently declared 
invalid. 

PROPOSITION 24 
This initiative measure is submitted to the people in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 8 of Article 
II of the California Constitution. 

This initiative measure amends and adds sections to 
the Civil Code; therefore, existing provisions proposed 
to be deleted are printed in strikeout type and new 
provisions proposed to be added are printed in italic 
type to indicate that they are new. 

PROPOSED LAW 
The California Privacy Rights 

Act of 2020 

SECTION 0.5: Table of Contents 

Section 1: Title: The California Privacy Rights Act 
of 2020 

Section 2: Findings and Declarations 

Section 3: Purpose and Intent 

A. Consumer Rights 

B. Responsibilities of Businesses 

C. Implementation of the Law 

Section 4: General Duties of Businesses that Collect 
Personal Information 

Section 5: Consumers’ Right to Delete Personal 
Information 

Section 6: Consumers’ Right to Correct Inaccurate 
Personal Information 

Section 7: Consumers’ Right to Know What 
Personal Information is Being Collected. Right to 
Access Personal Information 

Section 8: Consumers’ Right to Know What 
Personal Information is Sold or Shared and to Whom 

Section 9: Consumers’ Right to Opt Out of Sale or 
Sharing of Personal Information 
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Section 10: Consumers’ Right to Limit Use and 
Disclosure of Sensitive Personal Information 

Section 11: Consumers’ Right of No Retaliation 
Following Opt Out or Exercise of Other Rights 

Section 12: Notice, Disclosure, Correction, and 
Deletion Requirements 

Section 13: Methods of Limiting Sale, Sharing, and 
Use of Personal Information and Use of Sensitive 
Personal Information 

Section 14: Definitions 

Section 15: Exemptions 

Section 16: Personal Information Security Breaches 
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Section 17: Administrative Enforcement 

Section 18: Consumer Privacy Fund 

Section 19: Conflicting Provisions 

Section 20: Preemption 

Section 21: Regulations 

Section 22: Anti-Avoidance 

Section 23: Waiver 

Section 24: Establishment of California Privacy 
Protection Agency 

Section 25: Amendment 

Section 26: Severability 

Section 27: Conflicting Initiatives 

Section 28: Standing 

Section 29: Construction 

Section 30: Savings Clause 

Section 31: Effective and Operative Dates 

SEC. 1. Title. 

This measure shall be known, and may be cited, as 
the “California Privacy Rights Act of 2020.” 

SEC. 2. Findings and Declarations. 

The people of the State of California hereby find and 
declare all of the following: 

A. In 1972, California voters amended the California 
Constitution to include the right of privacy among the 
“inalienable” rights of all people. Voters acted in 
response to the accelerating encroachment on 
personal freedom and security caused by increased 
data collection and usage in contemporary society. 
The amendment established a legal and enforceable 
constitutional right of privacy for every Californian. 
Fundamental to this right of privacy is the ability of 
individuals to control the use, including the sale, of 
their personal information. 

B. Since California voters approved the constitutional 
right of privacy, the California Legislature has adopted 
specific mechanisms to safeguard Californians’ 
privacy, including the Online Privacy Protection Act, 
the Privacy Rights for California Minors in the Digital 
World Act, and Shine the Light, but consumers had no 
right to learn what personal information a business 
had collected about them and how they used it or to 
direct businesses not to sell the consumer’s personal 
information. 

C. That changed in 2018, when more than 629,000 
California voters signed petitions to qualify the 
California Consumer Privacy Act of 2018 for the 
ballot. In response to the measure’s qualification, the 
Legislature enacted the California Consumer Privacy 
Act of 2018 (CCPA) into law. The CCPA gives 
California consumers the right to learn what 
information a business has collected about them, to 
delete their personal information, to stop businesses 




